International Simulation Football League
*Legend of the 79 speed QB - Printable Version

+- International Simulation Football League (https://forums.sim-football.com)
+-- Forum: Community (https://forums.sim-football.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Media (https://forums.sim-football.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
+---- Forum: Graded Articles (https://forums.sim-football.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+---- Thread: *Legend of the 79 speed QB (/showthread.php?tid=24517)

*Legend of the 79 speed QB - Eldorian - 07-31-2020

Alright, serious time in order for me to maybe sound smart as opposed to the fun I've been having as GOAT TANK ????. Super serious post time and not a shit post, promise.

I am really new to the league and have been having fun and getting scouted by all the teams and it's been a pretty fun experience so far. Since becoming active in some of the various team discord channels I noticed some talks around "don't put your speed at 79!" or "don't put your speed above 79!". At first I thought it was just a meme, maybe an urban legend.

However, someone eventually pointed me to no - that is not the case and linked me to a couple great articles that @`Maglubiyet` had put together where he decompiled the code in the sim and went over how current speed works and broke it down easily for people to understand:

Decompiling the Sim: CurrentSpeed, '79 Speed' and Other Speed Anamolies

Once I heard you could decompile the code, that it uses C#/.NET, and being a developer myself in that field - I immediately went to work to do the same myself and dig into the source code. I at first was mostly interested in the speed thing and if it ONLY affects QBs and also wanted to dive into if there was anything I could do with a DT to possibly get some kind of edge against Offensive Linemen.